Customer reviews for HTC One S

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HTC.

HTC One S

HTC One S boasts a head-turning design on our thinnest phone yet. With beauty both inside and out, our new 4.3-inch display delivers a rich viewing experience like you’ve never seen before. You’ll love the camera that captures every moment (even in low light) with crisp, vivid, beautiful photos. Plus, with Beats Audio™ you hear authentic, deep sound with true, finely-tuned details.
Overall rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(446 reviews) 446
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 446 reviews
5 Stars
276
4 Stars
95
3 Stars
30
2 Stars
19
1 Star
26
352 out of 41385%of customers recommend
Customer reviews for HTC One S
Review 1 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never has service. Never able to connect to data.

PostedNovember 27, 2013
From:Bensalem, PA 19020, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Screen 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look and Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Id say 40% of the day my phone has no service and cant connect to the data plan. I use my phone daily for work as a delivery drive staying in the state of PA at all time. I use to use Google maps everyday until my phone became unreliable not only would Google maps not work but neither would the internet. To top it off I also couldn't make phone call to ask for directions. The only way to get service again would be to rest the phone every time I wanted to make a phone call and with in 5 minutes id lose service again. T mobile has replaced this phone twice both times charging me a 20$ stocking fee and still the problem persist. At this point I am not sure if its the phone or T mobile but i know its driving me crazy; costing me time and money at work. I wouldn't recommend this phone to anyone but on the same hand i wouldn't recommend T mobile to any one if it is there service and not the phone I wouldn't be surprised.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Okay... I hope the HTC 1 is better

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
From:Rocket City
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look and Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Daily
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Daily
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Daily
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Daily
Daily
So I get this phone and the first problem I run into is the phone kicking out the SIM card. Anytime I pick up the phone it says that the SIM card is not detected this happens at least 5 times a day. Then when it comes to using the speaker the phone decides to turn off the speaker by itself. if I use a bluetooth it decides to drop the bluetooth if I have a wired hands free headset going into the phone it just hangs up on the caller all together. HTC I had the Mytouch with the sliding keyboard it was a wonderful phone and it worked well. This phone right here should be scrapped.
I really want to know if the HTC 1 is a phone I should get or should I invest my money with Sony Xperia Z or the LG G2?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible phone

PostedJuly 17, 2013
From:Fort Thomas, KY, USA
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Screen 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Look and Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Frequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Frequently
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
My HTC One S has had the Photo Gallery and the voice recorder lock up 3 times in the first 7 months. Each occurence is remedied only by a "factory reset" causing all photos, voice notes, apps, music, and much more to be wiped out completely.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HTC One S
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

it keeps crashing

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Age: 18 to 24
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screen 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look and Feel 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Frequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Frequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Frequently
Daily
Talking
Never
Frequently
Daily
I really hate this phone It is seriously garbage people say that its great but mine keeps crashing. I did the updates and all of that but this piece of garbage keeps crashing even when I'm making a call. I have tried everything with this phone and no one can tell me why it does that. I seriously feel like getting rid of it I had my iphone for 3 years and it never did that to me. I don't think I will ever get another HTC.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HTC One S
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ended updates after only 13 months

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Htc stopped updating this phone so it's not and it never was worth buying since this is not exactly cheap phone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor design

PostedMay 31, 2013
From:UK
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look and Feel 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Frequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Sometimes
Daily
The vibration on my One S stopped working so I send it to my provider for repair. Apparently it has water damage and they claim it's unrepairable and not covered by warranty. I have NEVER dropped my phone into any liquids, or spilled anything to it. Seems like just rain can damage the One S insides. This has never ever happened to me with any other mobile phones I've used in the past (13 years user). Horrible thing.
Also, the battery life is not great, the reception, quite poor (I travel all around the world and this is a constant), The casing is terribly designed (black model). it looses the paint that was meant to never come off just by, pretty much, looking at it, making it look old and used, loosing any value for resell.
You can't remove battery, internal storage is really low for a high end smartphone (all in one solution for the day to day). If you have a Mac, forget about having a decent and smooth experience communicating with it to send music, etc. HTC Sync Manager for Mac has to be the worst application I have ever used.
When I bought this, I didn't go for the fruit brand cause I trusted HTC on making great products. This was my second HTC. I had a Desire and despite a few things, I liked it. Guess what I've just bought today: A phone of the fruit brand... And I was considering the new HTC One as an upgrade for this... Jajaja
It obviously has very good things, but it doesn't compensate the waste of money.
I've always talked really good things about HTC and look now. Extremely dissapointed. Good bye HTC.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Phone

PostedMarch 13, 2013
From:Collinstown, Co. Westmeath, Ireland
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first HTC Phone but it will not be my last - Love the phone - good power and no lag when running apps, camera etc. The Camera is (i find) alot better than some of the rating sites give it. Even with the case mate cover on it it is still tinner than alot of phones out there.
Bad point - i have the black version and while it looks and feels great do not put it in a pocket along with coins etc as the cover gets all scraped very quickly...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HTC One S
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

camera isn't working anymore!

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
the camera on mine has stopped working. i dont know why but its still not working :( i dont know how to fix it!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please do not buy this phone

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
From:Leavenworth, KS
Gender: Male
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am on my second. The first was replaced after two weeks. This one has totally gone # up. Whether I call another cell or a regular land line, there is an echo and sea shell sound. As if it had a mind of its own, the unit rings or just emits a metal to metal sound.
If I had not paid for it up front, I would throw it into the river.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-13points
1of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HTC One S
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is the fifth HTC phone that i have had. The first one was by choice, the next four were a domino effect of broken phone after broken phone. Because of the warranty I have, the broken phone is replaced with a new one. However just three hours of receiving my latest phone it started powering off for no reason. The battery was not the issue because it was full. This has been a recurring problem with all my HTC phones so I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS OR ANY OTHER HTC PHONE! I hope this helps anyone who is looking for a phone they can count on to be ON when they need it!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-12points
8of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

awesome phone <BUT>

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
From:United States
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the power button stops working and have to remove the back cover to push the button there. and even tho it still works one out of 10 times.. i mean its an awesome phone but what the heck can do with a phone you can not open the screen when u want to without hustle .. must be some problem with the main board of the phone .. other wise, they should fix that..
ps : changing the back cover does not help or resolve anything .
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disfigured cover piece

PostedDecember 11, 2012
From:Australia
Gender: Male
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Today I recieved my HTC One S, however, I was disappointed to find, on arrival, that one of the plastic prongs on the top cover part had not been correctly manufactured. It is slightly odd-shaped compared to the one on the opposite side and this means that the top part does not close properly.
I am quite annoyed because I now have to talk to my service provider and try and have it sent back and fixed etc. I had heard in reviews how HTC's phones have great build quality but I can't back that up.
I am hoping the phone itself will be great but my experience so far, has been poor.
Disappointing HTC :(
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HTC One S
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst phone I've ever had

PostedDecember 1, 2012
From:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got the HTC one s in July and I have had nothing but problems since day one. I will detail out these issues below.
Messages.. My texts either don't send or multiple texts send (person receives two or more of same text)
Battery.. My battery goes from fully charged to completely dead in less than 8 hours. That being said it is important to note that I do not stream videos, listen to music or heavily search the web. The majority of my use is text messages and some phone calls.
Sound.. The speaker quality is very good. I never have a problem hearing people but people have a hard time hearing me. I have gotten this feedback from multiple people I have spoken with on the phone.
Camera.. Absolutely the best thing about this phone. It takes amazing pictures with the back camera. The front camera is typical front camera quality.
Features.. The phone has cool features and is highly customizable.
I would not recommend this phone to anyone. It has given me nothing but problems since the day I bought it. I am very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-13points
8of 29voted this as helpful.
Read comments (2)
2 Comment(s)
Customer avatar
Posted bymightymouse
 
Please wait while more information about mightymouse is loaded.
Additional information about mightymouse could not be loaded.
onJanuary 4, 2013
Hi ! I had a similar problem with my phone. It would not sent text 90 % of the time and sometimes multiple sending. I returned it 2 days after I got it and got a new one np. This replacement phone just blows me away on what it can do. Its fast, crisp and way beyond my expectations. The batt life is sometime 2 days ( abit of a con i guess) Perhaps urs is faulty like my first one ?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byAdel
 
Please wait while more information about Adel is loaded.
Additional information about Adel could not be loaded.
onDecember 4, 2012
With all respect to your comment above but I totally disagree with you. This phone is one of my best smart phones I've ever had since i owned many of them.
In addition your comment lacks a concrete feedback. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comment(s)
Read comments (2)
Review 14 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO SERVICE

PostedNovember 10, 2012
From:Chicago
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ALL I C ON MY PHONE IS NO SERVICE! IT NEVER WORKS. I HAVE HAD 3 AND THEY ARE THE SAME. HATE IT!!!! SHOULD HAVE STAYED WITH MY OLD PHONE THE MYTOUCH 4G SLIDE KHAKI
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comment(s)
Customer avatar
Posted bytig22b
 
Please wait while more information about tig22b is loaded.
Additional information about tig22b could not be loaded.
onMay 30, 2013
all good expect there is no wifi direct software on phone....
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comment(s)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for HTC One S
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Screen broke too easily

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had this product for two weeks before the screen shattered (5 months ago) and I'm stuck in a contract with this awful phone for another year and a half. My phone fell from a height of 3 feet and the screen shattered and splintered. There are no replacement parts out there unless I feel like paying $150-$200 for a replacement part on a phone they are giving away free and that only has a resale value of $200. What a waste. I really liked this phone before it the screen shattered but now I'm stuck with a broken phone and can't do anything about it for over a year. Its a nice thin design though.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-18points
27of 72voted this as helpful.
Read comments (3)
3 Comment(s)
Customer avatar
Posted bydisapoint
 
Please wait while more information about disapoint is loaded.
Additional information about disapoint could not be loaded.
onNovember 20, 2012
I bought this phone because I had the htc evo for almost 2 years & with a perfect plastic cover it was still brand new. I wanted to upgrade. I went to T-Mobile for a contract on HTC-S and the screen cracked in the parts when I dropped it the first time. I Have to pay 130.00 to get the same phone with no options left. it works beautiful but who wants to work with a phone all cracked up.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byJayesh1987
 
Please wait while more information about Jayesh1987 is loaded.
Additional information about Jayesh1987 could not be loaded.
onNovember 12, 2012
You go to Shop Mobile Repair. Then change New Screen Glass.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byKeats
 
Please wait while more information about Keats is loaded.
Additional information about Keats could not be loaded.
onNovember 9, 2012
Same thing happened to me, it shattered less than 30days of owning phone. Today it totally went black. Phone wasn't dead, plugged it in and no light, no nothing. Can't find the battery in it yet. Don't know if it quit working from screen or another issue.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
3 Comment(s)
Read comments (3)
Review 16 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Brilliant if it worked

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This has been withdrawn from Sale on Meteor at least because of many problems. I've had the inexplicable phone body scratching (a known issue with this product), and really poor signal strength - the phone oftentimes won't even be available for calls or texts, despite others having signal on the same network. WiFi often gives trouble too; overall, connectivity for the phone is well below acceptable.
Frim a feature point of view, only having 10GB of available space is pathetic when you think about it for a €400+ phone.
Beautiful phone, good battery life, lovely smooth interface, bright, clear screen, just fails at its basic function of being a phone
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HTC One S
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

focused on design - not on basic construction rules

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The htc ons s looks really cool. It is very thin and has a camera inside which is even able to take HDR pictures.
But: The display is too near at the sides of the housing and slightly elevated. Therefore the housing does not protect the display sufficiently, which makes the phone extremely vulnerable if it hits plane ground, even from small heights. Also original htc hard shells (with or without protection cover) do not protect the display. This is because of two other construction bugs: Firstly the protection cover may open if it falls. Secondly the sides of the hard shell are lower than the display. Therefore the shell can not absorb kinetic energy by its deformation - because it is not where it has to be (performance and ease of use - 1 Star). Perhaps some developers were careless because of the usage of gorilla glass and forgot basic principles of construction.
Another bad thing is that the display glass is bonded with the screen in order to produce the phone thinner. Therefore a broken glass can not be replaced alone. Fixing a broken screen is about 200€ or 40-50% of the original phone and too much as it is caused by faulty design.
The question, whether one/I should repair it or buy a reliable new one is quite difficult to answer.
Sorry htc.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HTC One S
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good Phone pity about the Home Screen Bug

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
From:Ireland
Gender: Male
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is my second Htc One S The first one had the Home Screen Bug and so does the second one. Its a pity as the buttons lock all the time.
Would not Buy HTC Again it really damages the user experience and their seems to be no fix from HTC.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Could be a great phone if it wasn't so bug ridden

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Good phone, good camera but the now famous Home Screen Bug makes the phone unusuable. Updates to correct this were promised but never delivered (at least no updates which fixed the most annoying bug ever seen).
I would stay away from HTC until they are "fixing" their quality control.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Read comments (2)
2 Comment(s)
Customer avatar
Posted byAntunT
 
Please wait while more information about AntunT is loaded.
Additional information about AntunT could not be loaded.
onOctober 22, 2012
me neither. what's the bug about?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byRodneyM
 
Please wait while more information about RodneyM is loaded.
Additional information about RodneyM could not be loaded.
onSeptember 26, 2012
never have this issue!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comment(s)
Read comments (2)
Review 20 for HTC One S
This review is fromHTC One S.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HTC S ONE

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Well first off I'm a tech person. I have to admit the phone has not wowed me yet. Having issue with signal in places that I never have had issues before. I bought 2 at the same time and my wife's works fine (so far) but mine, off to the T-Mobile store to .....a talk with them. have
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>