Customer reviews for Windows Phone 8X by HTC

Windows Phone 8X by HTC

Blaze through web browsing and file downloads with lightning-fast 4G* speeds in a stunningly designed form that’s magically slim and reinforced with light, scratch-resistant Gorilla® Glass 2 over a breathtaking 4.3" 720p HD screen that is packed with colour and detail. And the front camera features the widest angle ever, giving you twice the picture area, so you can capture a larger slice of the action. With a dedicated amplifier that pumps out a full range of dynamic sound from both the internal speaker and headset, it’s the only Windows® Phone with Beats Audio™. * Available in LTE and non-LTE versions, subject to device market availability.
Overall rating:
4.229 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(450 reviews) 450
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 450 reviews
5 Stars
247
4 Stars
132
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
15
1 Star
29
369 out of 43385%of customers recommend
Customer reviews for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Review 1 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very competitive smartphone

PostedNovember 16, 2012
From:Herndon, VA, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lets go down the list of what a smart phone should do:
Open lines of communication between friends and family: Got that
Easy user interface that anyone can pick up in a day: Got that
Good reception when making phone calls through the headset and blue tooth: Got that
Great design that isn't bulky or weighed down: Got that
Take great pics on a moments notice: If the lighting is very dark, it's hit or miss, but other than that great.
Keep enough storage to keep plenty of pictures, videos, and music: 16 GB is ok, but for some people who are pack rats and keep EVERYTHING, a big storage size would have been a plus
Keep a good battery charge throughout the day: Got that. With the 8x, I can make it passed the work day plus a lot more even with moderate use.
Check all e-mail quickly: Got it. I can link all 3 of my mailboxes in one.
Know the weather, latest news, and friend and family status in the blink of an eye: Got that. Live tiles on windows phone serves 2 purposes, quick information panel and an icon to open a program.
The 8x has a "big enough" screen that is beautifully inserted into a nice unibody shell with with vibrant colors of your choosing.
This phone will is great overall. Probably the best balanced windows phone out there. Decent size, decent screen, great specifications.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+30points
49of 68voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comment(s)
Customer avatar
Posted byRajagopal
 
Please wait while more information about Rajagopal is loaded.
Additional information about Rajagopal could not be loaded.
onNovember 21, 2012
Hey, I found in some links that the phone also offers 32GB space. Is that true?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comment(s)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC.
Overall 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect for my needs

PostedApril 21, 2014
From:Cluj-Napoca 400000, Romania
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Screen 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Frequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Just wanted to upgrade from a Nokia Lumia 520 to my beautiful HTC 8X Black. I'm in love with it. I only miss some software features from Nokia but overall is a great phone for its price.
And it looks gorgeous!
With the next OS update to Windows Phone 8.1, it will be great.
My only cons are for the battery. It is quite average, not far from my ex-phone Windows Phone device but quite normal for a smartphone with all its facilities activated (WiFi, mobile data, sync etc). I'm a hard-core user. :D
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gets worse with time

PostedMarch 29, 2014
From:Wales, UK
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Screen 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look and Feel 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Talking
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
I've had this phone for a year now,at first it was brilliant. Exactly what I was looking for,great wifi for apps and using facebook and such. Yet as the months have gone on I've started noticing small problems for example the charger - where the cable plugs in has become loose and doesn't always connect, a message frequently pops up saying 'sim error', wifi regularly says it isn't connected leaving me to switch on and off in settings before letting me carry on. The most annoying of all the problems has to be the battery life, it rarely lasts the whole day.
Overall I'd say this phone just keeps getting worse and worse
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC.
Overall 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good phone with few con's

PostedMarch 25, 2014
From:India
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Daily
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Daily
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Daily
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Daily
Daily
+
Awesome phone by having HD display with 342ppi,
Design was awesome,
Usage was excellent,
Sound quality was unbelievable with beats audio(feel like in a theater)
_
Battery life was worst, it was draining like a beer,
Windows 8 does not contain much apps, most of the apps are paid.
Red eye issue, worst in low-light (I don't recommend this camera, lumia 920 is better than this in concern about camera), I didn't find any solution till now to prevent this red eye issue.
Over all,
Nice phone by an premium brand with an premium Look and sleek design.
I recommend this phone as it is low budget phone, but if you are looking for an premium usage with camera, don't go for this
To say in one word, Awesome phone with few defects.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC.
Overall 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Absolutely in love with this phone

PostedMarch 21, 2014
From:Iceland
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Frequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Daily
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Frequently
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
I don't care what people are saying about windows phones. Beside the obvious fault that there is definitely an app shortage and that you have really no other choice then IE to browse (would love to see opera), then this phone and that os is brilliant. Got a win 8 laptop and a xbox one console and connected those three things together. I'm organized which is surprising since I didn't plan that. Hope the windows phones stay alive, they are definitely worth it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome phone

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
From:Tenbury Wells, Worcestershire WR15, UK
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Daily
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Daily
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Daily
Daily
my last phone was the HTC EVO 3D and it was very good for a few years but when it started to slow I knew I had to upgrade so I spent weeks looing at phones and I wanted to stay with HTC but wanted to try another OS so I landed with the HTC 8X and never regretted it. brilliant phone, camera and battery life I highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I would rather go back to a landline!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
From:West Jordan, UT, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screen 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Look and Feel 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Frequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Frequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Talking
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
If you are ever thinking about getting one of the HTC Windows 8 Phones, I would highly recommend that you think twice. It is one of the worst phones on the market and should be taken out of the market and destroyed. I gave this phone a "1 star" rating only because I had to give it at least one even though it is not worthy of even a smidge of a star rating. I got the phone back in May 2013 and have had to have it replaced 2 times. It has missing or invalid sim card issues, it shuts itself off, when the volume is all the way up (30) and you are listening to music and you get a phone call, after the call, the music will still play but no sound will come out even though the volume says it is all the way up to 30.
When connected to wifi, I have to repeatedly turn off the wifi in order to make the internet work. Even at that, it is very slow. My data usage has almost gone ove 2 tines because of this not so good phone. I was at work one day, texting a friend about getting a car, put the phone down after sending the last text to my friend, looked at the phone 5 minutes later and the screen was cracked! I didn't drop the phone nor did I drop anything on it and if I did, there would be some sort of impact on the screen and there was not.
I have issues with sending text messages as well. More often than not, my sent messages will read the message I sent and "message cannot be sent". Then I have to power the phone down and power it back up inorder to send a message. It shouldnt have to be this way with what I first thought was a really good phone. The only cool thing about it is the live tiles. Nothing more.
Please spare yourself the waste of money and do not buy or recommend this phone top anyone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
4 / 5
4 / 5

best windows phone in market....

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
From:Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Frequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Daily
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Frequently
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Daily
Daily
1. best screen
2. best camera
3. great design
4. awesome build quality
5. best specs in this range
in simple words perfect phone for daily use , i use it for socializing calls and take photos with it...
must go for it...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC.
Overall 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good at first, but...

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
From:Michigan, USA
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Female
Smartphone Experience: Beginner
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Screen 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Look and Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Frequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Frequently
Daily
Talking
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Gaming
Never
Daily
Daily
I was super excited to get this phone, but a few months after i got it, it started doing weird stuff. twice it started vibrating constantly for about a minute and i couldn't control any of the buttons. and about once a week it would start flipping through a bunch of apps i didn't select. It has hung up on a conversation. I really didn't want this to be my first experience with a phone, i was trying out the WP8 OS, its good, but i think the phone is having problems because its one of the first in the brand. A few updates from Microsoft have fixed a few things. I wouldn't recommend it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I wanted a phone not a camera

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
From:Oxford, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Never
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Never
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Frequently
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Never
Daily
This phone was issued to me by my employers - I will refuse to have another one. Without doubt the most infuriating and useless piece of kit I've ever come across. The camera and the display are excellent, but the functionality, and ease of use are non existent. It cannot download anything except when it has access to a wifi connection - more often than not I have to use my android phone as a mobile hotspot if I want to download anything or access the web on the HTC. Due to these problems, I downloaded some apps I wanted onto my PC with the intention of transferring them to the 8x - it can't be done unless you register the phone for development. As a Windows user for over 20 years (and former MS Windows beta tester) I find Windows 8 to be totally non-intuitive and the mobile version is even worse.
If I could find an Android phone with a camera and display as good as this I would be in heaven. However, on the 8x these are not enough to compensate for the fact I need a phone that can handle apps - and this doesn't meet that requirement. I would rate this phone as a zero, but the review system forces me to give it one star - it doesn't deserve it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the best from HTC

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
From:South Africa
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
I must be one of the biggest HTC fans on earth, but when it comes to the HTC Windows 8x i must say I'm very disappointed.
This phone must have one of the best camera's I've seen, and the wide angle front facing camera is excellent, but as far as the operating system goes, its a major let down! This is my 4th HTC smartphone, and I absolutely cannot wait for my contract to expire so i can get rid of this phone!
I recommend ANY of the HTC android phones, but will never in my life get a phone that is run on a windows operating system! Its like moving from 2014 to 1995… You customize anything on this operating system. It's like having a smartphone but restricting what you can do with it. Absolutely pointless….
Really didn't expect this poor phone from HTC, but I'm also looking forward to getting my new HTC with a ANDROID operating system again!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I wanted a smartphone that will make me stand apart!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
From:Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Beginner
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Daily
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Daily
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Daily
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
The Discovery:
On a visit to Bangalore, I saw a guy talking on a smartphone. From the side the phone looked razor sharp thin! It's color was Blue with HTC's logo shining at the back. I googled and tadaa... it was the most awesome phone I ever saw The HTC 8X.
Specs and Review:
I reviewed HTC 8X along with other major smartphones for about 6 months before coming to a conclusion. I wanted a phone that has a min of 4 inch screen, min 1 GB RAM, min 1 Ghz processor, min 5 MP rear camera with flash, front 2 MP camera(both front and back with full HD recording). All of these requirements are packed in this HTC Windows Phone 8X. Every other device lacks one or the other major feature. Finally I bought it on 2014 New Year's Eve.
Experience:
This is my first smartphone and it's just amazing. It's design, build quality and handling experience is best. 8X fits perfectly in one hand. The 4.3" touch screen feels great for single hand usage. Beats audio provides authentic sound quality. Capturing priceless moments with the camera is crystal clear. Since 8X is my first smartphone, getting used to it took just 1 day! Windows OS is ultra lightweight on the device. Overall HTC 8X is an elite of the smartphones.
Tiny Downside: Less storage space, 1800 mAh battery and surprisingly no Beats headset in the box(seriously?).
Suggestion: Min of 32 GB storage, 2100 mAH battery along with Beats headset!
Jealousy: All my cousins, nieces, nephews, friends, co-workers even my boss is JEALOUS!
Conclusion: This phone make me stand apart from others. Whenever I take it out of my pocket, the person standing next to me interrupts asking what phone is this?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Screen broke

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
From:Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Screen 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Look and Feel 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
These phones aren't durable enough. There is little to no buffer around the screen. I owned it for two months, accidently dropped it once (think of how many times you've dropped your smartphone), and the screen broke. No good.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comment(s)
Customer avatar
Posted byJUHI
 
Please wait while more information about JUHI is loaded.
Additional information about JUHI could not be loaded.
onMarch 26, 2014
same thing happened with me
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comment(s)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC.
Overall 
4 / 5
4 / 5

If you don't drop it, it will be a great phone!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
From:Ontario, Canada
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Screen 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Frequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Frequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Talking
Never
Frequently
Daily
Gaming
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Got it on boxing day sale 2013. Really impressed by the Windows Phone 8 system for the functionality and efficient design, it even stands out from Android system, I managed to find all of my most used apps on iPhone and Android Phones in the MS market, sure there are some minor ones missing but doesn't matter to me.
For this price, you get LTE support, NFC support, 4.3 HD display, 16GB of storage, 1GB memory, 8MP camera + flash light.
Unlocked it to use for a different carrier the same day, worked like a breeze! This was my best decision ever made in this whole year!
One thing to point out, the glass HTC uses for the screen does has quality issues as lots of reporting on smashes and cracks once dropped. So get a case and screen protector for it and you are good to ride the premium experience like a flagship phone.
BTW, this model is still listed on Rogers site as a contract phone as of now.
If Windows Phone could not make a comeback in the smartphone market in 2 years, it's not the software itself to blame for sure.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC.
Overall 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a great phone at all

PostedDecember 29, 2013
From:Cody, WY 82414, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Screen 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Look and Feel 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased the phone in April of this year and within 2 weeks the phone would just randomly shut off. Took it back to the store and received a "new" reconditioned phone. That phone also started to randomly shut off. Needless to say I am on my 4th reconditioned phone and although the powering problem stopped, I am having problems with connectivity. I have to try again to send texts. After about the 4th attempt the text will go through. I then shut the phone off and the problem goes away for awhile. I can be in a full bar LTE area and still have problems. I would not recommend this phone to anyone. I should have stuck with Samsung!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SIM Error and Shuts off

PostedDecember 27, 2013
From:Colorado
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Female
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Screen 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look and Feel 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Never
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Daily
Daily
My husband and I both have the HTC Windows 8x phones. We've had this phone for less than a year and about 5-6 times a day, we both get a SIM card error and a message saying that wecan only make emergency calls. Also a separate issue where the phone turns itself off has started to appear about 4-5 times a day. There are no warnings when these things happen, we just notice that our phones have not gotten any emails or texts in several hours and then realize that is because it's been off for hours. This is happening with both of our phones and when I went to the Verizon store, they told me that they were both known issues with this phone. I don't recommend this model at all. I gave the phone 1 bar for each of the categories above since none of them matter when your phone turns itself off or is unusable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC.
Overall 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Age: 17 or under
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Screen 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Daily
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Daily
Daily
It's a good phone but it's ruined by the windows 8. It has a great camera and screen and feels nice to hold, and windows 8 is easy to use but the App Store is shockingly bad with only the most basic apps available and the beats audio only works with headphones and it doesn't have any notable affect. I would recommend this if you want a cheap windows phone with a basic App Store. I have since moved to the HTC one wich is much better.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little phone

PostedDecember 9, 2013
From:Nashville, TN, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Never
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Frequently
Daily
I have has my 8x for about 7 months and so far its been threw some interesting torture. Some of those things including but not limited to excessive water exposure, dropped from about 10 feet onto concrete while building a garage, survived a motorcycle wreck in my front jeans pocket, dropped in a deep fryer at my job. The only cosmetic damage is some of the block covering on it has peeled off around the corners of the back and there is a tiny hardly noticable crack in the side of the screen. The os is fast smooth reliable and user friendly and it works great with my zune. The only downsides(UNLESS THE CURRENT MODEL HAS BEEN FIXED) to the phone is the simm card slot verizon uses is loose and you will need to put a layer of clear table on the back side of the simm card to keep it from moving around and the power button takes a while to get used to because of how flush it is with the top of the phone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWINDOWS PHONE 8X by HTC.
Overall 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good phone for use

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Camera 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hi,
Im very happy with performance and sound quality of this mobile. All the features looks great . But i have one problem with my phone when i try to check my balance im getting the reply in chinese language. Can anyone assist me how to fix this issue?
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy

PostedDecember 7, 2013
From:Colorado, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screen 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look and Feel 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Frequently
Daily
Talking
Never
Frequently
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
i bought this phone for productivity purposes. but it will not work at all now. i had the phone for about a month and the phone started to just restart, the its battery would not last over 2 hours even of off in my pocket. not a good phone for anything.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>