Customer reviews for Windows Phone 8X by HTC

Windows Phone 8X by HTC

Blaze through web browsing and file downloads with lightning-fast 4G* speeds in a stunningly designed form that’s magically slim and reinforced with light, scratch-resistant Gorilla® Glass 2 over a breathtaking 4.3" 720p HD screen that is packed with colour and detail. And the front camera features the widest angle ever, giving you twice the picture area, so you can capture a larger slice of the action. With a dedicated amplifier that pumps out a full range of dynamic sound from both the internal speaker and headset, it’s the only Windows® Phone with Beats Audio™. * Available in LTE and non-LTE versions, subject to device market availability.
Overall rating:
4.254 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(287 reviews) 287
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 287 reviews
5 Stars
156
4 Stars
92
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
6
1 Star
19
235 out of 27685%of customers recommend
Customer reviews for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Review 1 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very competitive smartphone

PostedNovember 16, 2012
From:Herndon, VA, USA
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lets go down the list of what a smart phone should do:
Open lines of communication between friends and family: Got that
Easy user interface that anyone can pick up in a day: Got that
Good reception when making phone calls through the headset and blue tooth: Got that
Great design that isn't bulky or weighed down: Got that
Take great pics on a moments notice: If the lighting is very dark, it's hit or miss, but other than that great.
Keep enough storage to keep plenty of pictures, videos, and music: 16 GB is ok, but for some people who are pack rats and keep EVERYTHING, a big storage size would have been a plus
Keep a good battery charge throughout the day: Got that. With the 8x, I can make it passed the work day plus a lot more even with moderate use.
Check all e-mail quickly: Got it. I can link all 3 of my mailboxes in one.
Know the weather, latest news, and friend and family status in the blink of an eye: Got that. Live tiles on windows phone serves 2 purposes, quick information panel and an icon to open a program.
The 8x has a "big enough" screen that is beautifully inserted into a nice unibody shell with with vibrant colors of your choosing.
This phone will is great overall. Probably the best balanced windows phone out there. Decent size, decent screen, great specifications.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+29points
48of 67voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comment(s)
Customer avatar
Posted byRajagopal
 
Please wait while more information about Rajagopal is loaded.
Additional information about Rajagopal could not be loaded.
onNovember 21, 2012
Hey, I found in some links that the phone also offers 32GB space. Is that true?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comment(s)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gets worse with time

PostedMarch 29, 2014
From:Wales, UK
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Female
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Screen 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look and Feel 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Talking
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
I've had this phone for a year now,at first it was brilliant. Exactly what I was looking for,great wifi for apps and using facebook and such. Yet as the months have gone on I've started noticing small problems for example the charger - where the cable plugs in has become loose and doesn't always connect, a message frequently pops up saying 'sim error', wifi regularly says it isn't connected leaving me to switch on and off in settings before letting me carry on. The most annoying of all the problems has to be the battery life, it rarely lasts the whole day.
Overall I'd say this phone just keeps getting worse and worse
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome phone

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
From:Tenbury Wells, Worcestershire WR15, UK
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Daily
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Daily
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Daily
Daily
my last phone was the HTC EVO 3D and it was very good for a few years but when it started to slow I knew I had to upgrade so I spent weeks looing at phones and I wanted to stay with HTC but wanted to try another OS so I landed with the HTC 8X and never regretted it. brilliant phone, camera and battery life I highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I would rather go back to a landline!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
From:West Jordan, UT, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screen 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Look and Feel 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Frequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Frequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Talking
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
If you are ever thinking about getting one of the HTC Windows 8 Phones, I would highly recommend that you think twice. It is one of the worst phones on the market and should be taken out of the market and destroyed. I gave this phone a "1 star" rating only because I had to give it at least one even though it is not worthy of even a smidge of a star rating. I got the phone back in May 2013 and have had to have it replaced 2 times. It has missing or invalid sim card issues, it shuts itself off, when the volume is all the way up (30) and you are listening to music and you get a phone call, after the call, the music will still play but no sound will come out even though the volume says it is all the way up to 30.
When connected to wifi, I have to repeatedly turn off the wifi in order to make the internet work. Even at that, it is very slow. My data usage has almost gone ove 2 tines because of this not so good phone. I was at work one day, texting a friend about getting a car, put the phone down after sending the last text to my friend, looked at the phone 5 minutes later and the screen was cracked! I didn't drop the phone nor did I drop anything on it and if I did, there would be some sort of impact on the screen and there was not.
I have issues with sending text messages as well. More often than not, my sent messages will read the message I sent and "message cannot be sent". Then I have to power the phone down and power it back up inorder to send a message. It shouldnt have to be this way with what I first thought was a really good phone. The only cool thing about it is the live tiles. Nothing more.
Please spare yourself the waste of money and do not buy or recommend this phone top anyone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
4 / 5
4 / 5

best windows phone in market....

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
From:Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Frequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Daily
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Frequently
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Daily
Daily
1. best screen
2. best camera
3. great design
4. awesome build quality
5. best specs in this range
in simple words perfect phone for daily use , i use it for socializing calls and take photos with it...
must go for it...
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I wanted a phone not a camera

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
From:Oxford, UK
Age: 45 to 54
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Never
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Never
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Frequently
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Never
Daily
This phone was issued to me by my employers - I will refuse to have another one. Without doubt the most infuriating and useless piece of kit I've ever come across. The camera and the display are excellent, but the functionality, and ease of use are non existent. It cannot download anything except when it has access to a wifi connection - more often than not I have to use my android phone as a mobile hotspot if I want to download anything or access the web on the HTC. Due to these problems, I downloaded some apps I wanted onto my PC with the intention of transferring them to the 8x - it can't be done unless you register the phone for development. As a Windows user for over 20 years (and former MS Windows beta tester) I find Windows 8 to be totally non-intuitive and the mobile version is even worse.
If I could find an Android phone with a camera and display as good as this I would be in heaven. However, on the 8x these are not enough to compensate for the fact I need a phone that can handle apps - and this doesn't meet that requirement. I would rate this phone as a zero, but the review system forces me to give it one star - it doesn't deserve it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I wanted a smartphone that will make me stand apart!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
From:Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Beginner
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Daily
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Daily
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Daily
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
The Discovery:
On a visit to Bangalore, I saw a guy talking on a smartphone. From the side the phone looked razor sharp thin! It's color was Blue with HTC's logo shining at the back. I googled and tadaa... it was the most awesome phone I ever saw The HTC 8X.
Specs and Review:
I reviewed HTC 8X along with other major smartphones for about 6 months before coming to a conclusion. I wanted a phone that has a min of 4 inch screen, min 1 GB RAM, min 1 Ghz processor, min 5 MP rear camera with flash, front 2 MP camera(both front and back with full HD recording). All of these requirements are packed in this HTC Windows Phone 8X. Every other device lacks one or the other major feature. Finally I bought it on 2014 New Year's Eve.
Experience:
This is my first smartphone and it's just amazing. It's design, build quality and handling experience is best. 8X fits perfectly in one hand. The 4.3" touch screen feels great for single hand usage. Beats audio provides authentic sound quality. Capturing priceless moments with the camera is crystal clear. Since 8X is my first smartphone, getting used to it took just 1 day! Windows OS is ultra lightweight on the device. Overall HTC 8X is an elite of the smartphones.
Tiny Downside: Less storage space, 1800 mAh battery and surprisingly no Beats headset in the box(seriously?).
Suggestion: Min of 32 GB storage, 2100 mAH battery along with Beats headset!
Jealousy: All my cousins, nieces, nephews, friends, co-workers even my boss is JEALOUS!
Conclusion: This phone make me stand apart from others. Whenever I take it out of my pocket, the person standing next to me interrupts asking what phone is this?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little phone

PostedDecember 9, 2013
From:Nashville, TN, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Never
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Frequently
Daily
I have has my 8x for about 7 months and so far its been threw some interesting torture. Some of those things including but not limited to excessive water exposure, dropped from about 10 feet onto concrete while building a garage, survived a motorcycle wreck in my front jeans pocket, dropped in a deep fryer at my job. The only cosmetic damage is some of the block covering on it has peeled off around the corners of the back and there is a tiny hardly noticable crack in the side of the screen. The os is fast smooth reliable and user friendly and it works great with my zune. The only downsides(UNLESS THE CURRENT MODEL HAS BEEN FIXED) to the phone is the simm card slot verizon uses is loose and you will need to put a layer of clear table on the back side of the simm card to keep it from moving around and the power button takes a while to get used to because of how flush it is with the top of the phone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy

PostedDecember 7, 2013
From:Colorado, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Screen 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look and Feel 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Frequently
Daily
Talking
Never
Frequently
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
i bought this phone for productivity purposes. but it will not work at all now. i had the phone for about a month and the phone started to just restart, the its battery would not last over 2 hours even of off in my pocket. not a good phone for anything.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A really nice phone

PostedDecember 4, 2013
From:Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Never
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Daily
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Frequently
Daily
This is a really classy phone. I do not find a lot wrong with it other than accidentally hitting the back button or search button(both user error). I find the customor support for HTC to be amazing and I do not see me choosing another smart phone brand. I like what they are doing with Windows 8 - Hopefully they will make a new phone to compete with the Lumia 1520. Although with Windows 8 you really do not need a high powered device I find this phone to be perfect for my needs as a Windows phone user.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love this phone !!!!!!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
From:North Carolina, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Frequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Daily
Daily
I cannot find a way to describe how much i love this phone. Although it lacks a few apps, this phone is best. From Beats Audio to the game play, I cannot find a better smartphone. The only thing I am missing is a pair if Beats by Dre Headphones !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm so glad I got this phone, I love it

PostedNovember 10, 2013
From:UK
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Female
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
This phone is fantastic. I moved from a HTC Wildfire Android phone and I'll be totally honest, I hated it. I hated android, I found android clunky, heavy and awful to use. But when I moved to thevWindows HTX 8X, it was like a breath of fresh air. Finally a phone I could use! Ok, Android has a bigger selection of apps but if it was a pain to use them and wasn't using them on my old phone it doesn't matter how may apps it had! The Windows phone is amazing and the apps are fantastic and growing in number by the day. There are thousands of apps for the Windows phone too.
This phone is so easy to set up and link it to all my social networks and email and I love the Windows home screen and how the apps are set up. The camera is amazing, I'm a blogger and use it for all my photos on my blog and they look top quality photos. Some of my followers couldn't believe that the photos were taken with my phone. The wee in phone photo editor is great too. The sound is brilliant and the phone is so easy to use. Battery life is really good considering its a Smart phone which are notorious for bad battery life. When you get it, just go through the settings and turn off any unnecessary settings that may run down your battery. I actively use my phone and find it needs charged every 3 days which is amazing for a Smart phone. Heavy use and I get 2 days and then need to charge it but its usually charged every 3 days and I use it a lot. Charging from my usb on my laptop is surprisingly fast too and it charges in no time from the mains electric.
I cannot recommend this phone highly enough. After the disaster of the Android phone....Windows Phones are definitely the way forward for me. I love that the battery lasts so long too considering my other family members have to charge their iphones maybe as much as 2-3 times per day depending on their usage of the phone. And what is the point of having a phone if you are afraid to use it because the battery may only last a few hours! No thanks. I love my HTC 8X. Its a nice light weight, sleek phone with a rounded back which is very comfortable to hold. Its not clunky or heavy, its a great phone. A lovely design.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At Last a Windows 8 Phone that works very well

PostedOctober 27, 2013
From:East of England
Age: 55 to 64
Gender: Male
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my Windows 8 HTC 8x some three months ago, never had a problem with it so I do not see what the issues are, there are functions that are different and it is to be expected, there are applications that are not compatible and there methods to get around the phone that have to be learned. This is normal for any new gadget weather it be a car, television or computer. Then i say to these who moan, stop moaning sit down and learn all the ins and outs of the new phone and then enjoy. The system is very stable with 1 GB of memory and above all it is very fast, it is only the service providers being a little slow, in that other phone OS are pushed more than windows because they have possibly had better press, which is unfair as what people have said about Windows 8 either for the Phone or PC is rubbish, this i fear is only because they are lazy and not prepared to learn. This is not true with windows, the OS has been very good from the beginning just the people have to learn that windows is not aimed at just the home use market it is for both markets with the commercial user being the ultimate end user.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comment(s)
Customer avatar
Posted byTimothy21
 
Please wait while more information about Timothy21 is loaded.
Additional information about Timothy21 could not be loaded.
onNovember 25, 2013
I agree. I own 5 of these....no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comment(s)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedOctober 24, 2013
From:Flint, MI, USA
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Screen 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery Life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Look and Feel 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Daily
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Daily
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Bought this from Verizon in July as first smartphone for college student. Had every problem described in poor reviews: sim card error, no service (data or voice), shuts itself off, can't send text messages, don't receive text messages, can't connect to backup assistant. Did hard reset, changed sim card, nothing helped. Got a replacement phone September 18 and on September 29 all same problems and additional problem that the charging cord didn't fit snugly, so charging tricky. Some form posts suggest putting a piece of tape on the sim card, but you shouldn't have to jury-rig a phone to get it to work. Have a friend with the phone who has never had a problem and another friend frustrated with some but not all of the same issues. Verizon should not be offering this phone and HTC should stop selling it unless it solves all of the problems. The phone is clearly not suitable for any of its intended purposes (phone, data, texting# and a quick google search reveals many owners have all these same issues. Look at user reviews and sort by lowest rating first and you will see all the same complaints. This is not a matter of a single defective phone #we had 2--both awful). Verizon customer service was great and finally allowed us to replace with a smartphone of another brand that works!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comment(s)
Customer avatar
Posted byGayleA
 
Please wait while more information about GayleA is loaded.
Additional information about GayleA could not be loaded.
onOctober 25, 2013
I have my HTC evo 3d phone for a year and I have had the same problems as did you. Only virgin mobile will be sending out the 6th replacement phone, I said PLEASE send me out a different brand they said NO WAY... I know the people I was talking were from a different country...very FRUSTRATING...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comment(s)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Windows 8X is awesome!

PostedOctober 21, 2013
From:Eden Prairie, MN, USA
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Frequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Frequently
Daily
Gaming
Never
Daily
Daily
This is my first Windows phone and am completely amazed, I wanted to try the Windows phones but have been skeptical with Android and iOS have better reviews due to lack of apps. I completely love this phone, the screen is vibrant and looks really good, the sound quality is excellent and battery life is good. The lack of apps I can see with using Android before but the ease of use with my Windows 8 PC and this phone is amazing, I highly recommend this if using Windows 8 on your PC.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Flag Ship Windows phone for HTC

PostedOctober 15, 2013
From:Ireland
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Infrequently
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Daily
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Frequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Frequently
Daily
Gaming
Never
Infrequently
Daily
This is a great phone, and with Windows on it, it matches the iconic style of the design. I would highly recommend this phone to anyone, as its a great fashion piece and with Windows Constantine picking up the pace on the OS it wont be long before it is as good or better than Android or iOS. My only thing about the phone, is the lack of accessing the battery, would of been nice to swap it for a longer life battery, and I feel HTC need to pick up on Nokia's App front. HTC seems to forget about its owners of this phone, and its ashame as Windows is up and coming. Please oh please, HTC make apps as good as Nokia and this would be a bommer of a phone :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedOctober 10, 2013
From:Montenegro
Age: 35 to 44
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Never
Daily
Taking Videos
Never
Never
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Never
Daily
Listening to Music
Never
Never
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Never
Daily
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Never
Daily
Texting
Never
Never
Daily
Talking
Never
Never
Daily
Gaming
Never
Never
Daily
Excellent phone.Nice and get business done.Recomendations:ac adapter cable too short,it should be longer so wnen I am in bed can charge and use it.Paint fosfor color in jack for chaging phone, so that can find it in dark.Your Htc folder in phone myst be richer so than can bring you money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great phone

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Age: 18 to 24
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Intermediate
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Screen 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taking Photos
Never
Daily
Daily
Watching Videos
Never
Frequently
Daily
Social Sharing
Never
Frequently
Daily
Texting
Never
Daily
Daily
Talking
Never
Frequently
Daily
Gaming
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Let me start off by saying I bought this phone for personal use since i use my iphone for business use and wanted to try out a windows 8 phone so i looked at both the htc 8s and 8X and due to better specs decided with the 8X and glad i did i love the overall feel and ease of use and speeds are fairly good too and windows app store is more than decent anyone looking to stray away from android or ios i would recommend the 8X
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
Overall 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great phone for the price paid

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
From:Poplar Bluff, MO
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this phone at an immensely marked down rate for being a long term AT&T customer. I had had a WP7 phone for almost 3 years until it broke a month ago. I was able to borrow an HTC Inspire in the waiting period before I received the 8x. I hate Android phones and this reaffirmed my hatred for them even though the phone was easy enough to use. After receiving the 8x, I remembered why I had to have a WP. This is everything I wanted from a processor and an OS. They are brilliant, fast, and easy to work with.
Now the downside. The limited internal memory wouldn't be a problem if there was an SD card slot...but sadly, this upgraded version of the 8s does not have an SD slot. Why, in 2013 is this not mandatory on all smartphones?
The inability to switch out batteries also annoys me, but not badly yet. I have a feeling I'll be more upset about this in a year when the built in battery can't hold a charge for more than an hour or two at a time.
The only other problems I have with the phone stem more from Windows themselves as it affects all WP on the market. The "other" file in the storage usage irritates me. With the limited memory that the phone has, this folder is taking up a quarter of the overall memory for the phone while my apps, pictures, and music don't even take up a quarter of the memory between them.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Windows Phone 8X by HTC
This review is fromWindows Phone 8X by HTC.
Overall 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of the rest

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
From:Uk
Age: 25 to 34
Gender: Male
Smartphone Experience: Expert
Camera 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Screen 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look and Feel 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Email, Calendar, & Contacts
Never
Sometimes
Daily
Great phone with superb functionality, Htc and windows take it to the best user experience
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>